If you own a smart phone, you'll be receiving an ALERT this Wednesday afternoon as FEMA conducts a test of the National Wireless Emergency Alert system.  Yes, everyone in the United States will receive this at the same time!    

Getty Images

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) will be conducting a test at 1:18 pm Central / 2:18 pm Eastern this Wednesday, October 3rd.

Your smart phone will display a "Presidential Alert" with this note:

THIS IS A TEST OF THE NATIONAL WIRELESS EMERGENCY ALERT SYSTEM.  NO ACTION IS NEEDED.

According to FEMA:

“The test will assess the operational readiness of the infrastructure for distribution of a national message and determine whether improvements are needed.”

Don't be alarmed as a second test of the national Emergency Alert System will follow at 1:20 pm Central / 2:20 pm Eastern.

This type of alert will not be an option to "opt out of" because it's a Presidential Alert.  In the event of a major national emergency, this is the type of alert that would be sent out, such as a mass terrorism event.

According to FEMA, this will be the first national test of the Wireless Emergency Alert system.

So beware...we are letting you know before everyone's cell phone's go off at the same time this Wednesday!

Source